The Next Kind Loving Thing

I was visiting with my Dad and Step-Mom (Nickname: Oso) one evening this past week while playing cards where we are camped and we started discussing mindfulness. Oso shared a saying that a dear friend had told her. She said that when you get confused or anxious just do the next kind loving thing. That could be cleaning a toilet, cooking a meal for a loved one, or smiling. Whatever form it shapes, being mindful is at the center of it. This stuck with me and the next morning as I was doing my daily meditation session I decided to try mantra meditation and used this as a chant. Later that day after work as I was walking through the hills 21towards the mountains behind my camp this continued to resonate in my mind. Then I saw lots of trash.

trash

This kind of trash is everywhere here.

Immediately my thoughts were, the next kind loving thing I could do would be to organize a great RVers trash pick up day where everyone will take time to clean up where ever they are camping. I giggle now thinking about how easy it was to forget to be mindful. As I continued to think way into the future and how I could make a difference I overlooked what I could be doing in the now and present. I stopped myself and told myself I would return with a bag and gloves the next chance I got free from work and pick up the trash. THAT is the next kind loving thing I could do. Don’t get me wrong, I’m still excited about the idea of a some kind of RVer movement for trash pickup, but I will start at home with myself first! Of course this led to me carrying someone else’s trash 3 miles back down from the Crack in the Wall trail I completed on Saturday. I’ll tell you all about this in my next blog. This was one of my favorite all time hikes so far!

trailtrash

Trash from the trail that I carried back. It was left on the side of the trail. I imagine someone sat down to rest and just forgot about it.

I’ve had a few people wonder about the recent places I’ve stayed.Two of the most recent have been at American Girl Mine Road featuring a trip to Puerto Penasco, a.k.a. Rocky Point. Rather than write about them myself I will share with you the posts made by two of my fellow campers who did a great job writing about our stays there.

American Girl Mine Road by RVChickadee and Puerto Penasco by Becky of Interstellar Orchard.

Until next time.

One thought on “The Next Kind Loving Thing

  1. Hey, Chica!! What a great story and message all in one. It’s truly frustrating to see the large amounts of trash found in some camping areas. The worst couple of places I have been to were the Grand Canyon south- boondocking in the National Forest there and at Joshua Tree North. (Also a boondocking spot.) I picked up a couple of bags of trash at the GC. Unreal. And yes, why not put a positive spin on these things? I love the way you think. Thanks for linking to my story. : )

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

